top of page

Chapter 9: Living Hell (Part 3)



"I can't live without you!" he said sarcastically, catching up. "Are you mad because I never gave you black roses? I'll make it up to you. I'll get you new clothes--from the graveyard."

The part-time after-school gig had to go. How could I get the scoop on the Mansion family if I was going to be at work all afternoon? I had to drag all those dry-clean only clothes with me to school and keep them neatly in my locker until school was over. My new afternoon punishment tore me up inside.


"Why doesn't that guy go to school?" I asked Becky as I was getting dressed.


"Maybe he isn't registered yet."


"If I didn't have this stupid job, we could go investigate right now. Ugh!"


I was envious of Becky because she got to go home to the land of cable TV and microwave popcorn, while I went from a school desk to a reception desk.


After parting ways with Becky, I snuck into the restroom.



I wiped off my black lipstick with a wet paper towel



and replaced it with some ultra-flashy shade of red.



I truly looked like a ghost with my pale complexion. I reluctantly put on my bright red rayon-and- cotton blends.



"I'll miss you, but we'll be back together in a few hours," I said to my black dress and combat boots, placing them in my backpack.


I gave myself a once over--this was one time I really thought being a vampire would come in handy. Maybe I'd look in the mirror and see nothing. Instead I saw a miserable girl standing awkwardly in her red rayon outfit. I slithered out of the restroom looking right and left like I was crossing the street and made my escape safely out the front door. Or so I thought.


Trevor was standing on the front steps.


I freaked when I saw him but tried to ignore his presence and move on. I wanted to run, but I wasn't used to skinny heels.


"Hey, Halloween's over!" he shouted, following me.



"Where's your tennis skirt? Going to some costume party as Suzie Secretary?"


I continued to ignore him, but he grabbed my arm.

I couldn't let him know that I was working, or where I was working, and, most of all, that I was working because I had to pay my father back for the tennis racket Trevor had made me lose. It would have brought him too much joy.


He looked me over, that same look he had given me when he first saw me in my tennis outfit. This time I was his corporate dream girl.


"So, where are you going?"


"None of your business!"


"Really? I didn't think we kept secrets from each other."


"Get lost already."


"I'll just walk with you then."


I stopped. "You will not walk with me! You will not go anywhere with me! You will leave me alone! For good. Forever!"


"You don't seem your usual loving self," he said, laughing.



"Having a bad hair day? You should be used to that by now."



"Trevor, it's over. Your games and mine! You don't have to harass me anymore.



We're even. We're even for all of eternity.



Okay? So just get out of my face!"


He ran after me when I stormed off.


"Are we breaking up? I didn't know we were going together, baby. Please don't leave me," he begged, jokingly.


I walked quickly past the school fence and scurried down the sidewalk. I had five minutes to get to Armstrong Travel.


"I can't live without you!" he said sarcastically, catching up. "Are you mad because I never gave you black roses? I'll make it up to you.



I'll get you new clothes--from the graveyard." He howled with laughter. "Just don't leave me, babe!"


"Cut it out!" I was fuming. He probably had two hundred dollars in his back pocket and I'd have to work for eons in a place I hated because of his stupid antics.


"Just tell me where you're going!"


"Trevor, quit it! Get out of here! I'll get a restraining order if I have to!"


"Do you have a date?" He wasn't going to give up.


"Go away!"


"You're meeting someone?"


"Buzz off!"


"Do you have an interview?



An interview...with the vampire?"


"Get out of my face!"


"Are you going to...work?"


I stopped. "No! Are you totally crazy? That's so lame!"



"You are! You've got a job!"



He danced around. "I'm so proud of you, my little gothic baby has found herself a job!"


I was fuming inside.


"Trying to better your life?



Or are you paying Daddy back for that fancy little tennis racket?"

I was ready to hit him and this time send his head flying off into the distance instead of a can of spray paint.


Just then Matt pulled up. "Trevor, dude. You said you'd be on the steps. I don't have time to drive all over town trying to find you. We have to go"


"Good, your baby-sitter found you," I said.


"I'd offer you a ride to work, but we have places to be," Trevor teased.


As the Camaro whizzed off I looked at the time.



Great!



My first day of work and I was late.

53 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

If you would like to switch off the atmospheric music, press pause now

bottom of page